Concept Plan for Lantau

 

Assessments

 

Sustainability Assessment

7.1    A preliminary sustainability assessment of the proposals in the Revised Concept Plan has been conducted. The assessment indicates that the proposals should contribute positively to the economic development of Hong Kong and reinforce its position as a regional tourism, transportation and logistics hub. In this context, Lantau will benefit from the creation of employment, investment and local business opportunities. Recreation-related initiatives will provide opportunities for more leisure, recreation and sports facilities and are thus conducive to the sustainability principle of enhancing cultural vibrancy and contributing towards social cohesion and family solidarity. The proposed conservation strategy will help protect the natural habitats, landscape, cultural heritage and the rich bio-diversity of the island.  

7.2    Implementation of the proposals will inevitably have environmental implications. The sustainability assessment has identified potential issues, such as air and noise pollution in both the construction and operation phases, impacts caused by proposed reclamations on water quality, impacts on biodiversity and natural resources, the capacity of transport infrastructure, possible development pressure in South Lantau, social impacts on the local community as well as the overall cumulative effects arising from the implementation of proposals under the Revised Concept Plan and other development projects under planning on Lantau. The sustainability assessment recommends that impacts of each individual projects should be studied in detail in further environmental impact assessments or environmental assessments, and that proposals should only be taken forward if the findings of these assessments confirm that the environmental impacts are acceptable. Suitable measures should be adopted to mitigate the possible impacts.  

7.3    Based on the recommendations of the sustainability assessment, the Government will take forward proposals under the Revised Concept Plan in phases. We will undertake for individual proposals detailed feasibility studies, including detailed sustainability assessments, environmental impact assessments and environmental assessments, and will develop measures to address any possible impacts and public concerns. At the implementation stage, due consideration will be given to the evaluation of alternatives, minimizing environmental and ecological impacts, optimizing the social, economic and environmental benefits and preserving the character of Lantau.

 

Environmental Implications -

Strategic Environmental Assessment

7.4    The HK2030 SEA has considered major infrastructure and development proposals for the whole territory, including those proposed for Lantau. The consultants have undertaken a broad-brush Environmental Appraisal (EA) of the Revised Concept Plan, as well as a general assessment of the cumulative impact of proposals under the Revised Concept Plan and other planned developments on and around Lantau.

7.5    The EA concludes that the Revised Concept Plan provides initiatives to further develop Lantau by enhancing and building upon the existing infrastructure, and offers opportunities for social progress and economic advancement. Areas of high conservation value in North Lantau have been avoided, with new developments focused in North Lantau. The Conservation Strategy, which is integral to the Revised Concept Plan, is a positive initiative to protect the valuable ecological and landscape resources in Lantau north and south. Nonetheless, proposals under the Revised Concept Plan have potential cumulative environmental implications, and it is not possible to state categorically that the development of these proposals and other proposed or planned developments on Lantau such as the HZMB, future development of the Hong Kong International Airport or growth of Tung Chung New Town will have no adverse environmental impact. Besides, there are air and noise issues to be considered in detail. The population for Lantau would be tripled, meaning that more people may be affected by the possible air and noise impacts. In consideration of this increase in population and the corresponding increase in traffic and transport needs, efforts should be made to adopt sustainable forms of transport and rail system as far as possible. Feasibility studies are required for the major development proposals to examine the appropriate phasing of the development concerned, and take account of environmental improvement and abatement strategies, such as the introduction of EURO IV emissions standards.

7.6    To minimize negative environmental effects on the natural and rural environment of Lantau, the EA recommends that the location of proposed development should avoid any infringement on environmentally and ecologically sensitive areas. For the large-scale infrastructure projects in North Lantau as well as the small-scale local works in rural Lantau, environmentally friendly measures should be adopted in the design and construction of the projects to minimize any possible adverse impact.

7.7    Where appropriate, further studies should be undertaken for individual proposals to confirm their environmental acceptability. In particular, any individual proposal or project which constitutes a Designated Project under the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) Ordinance must follow the statutory EIA processes and requirements under the EIA Ordinance, including obtaining an Environmental Permit for construction and operation of the project. The environmental impact of the project itself and the cumulative impact of any related projects must also be assessed. 

 

Social Implications

7.8    Meeting local aspirations and community needs was one of the major considerations in formulating the 2004 Concept Plan. The 2004 Concept Plan has been reviewed and revised taking into account public comments and suggestions. It is envisaged that the Revised Concept Plan will benefit the local community as well as the general public. 

7.9    Lantau has an existing population of about 106,000, of which about 80% and 15% live in Tung Chung and Discovery Bay respectively. The remaining 5% is accommodated in the rural township of Mui Wo and the village clusters of Tai O and South Lantau. Other than Tung Chung which has a planned population of up to 220,000, no other major residential development or population increases are envisaged in the Revised Concept Plan. As the Revised Concept Plan does not affect any existing residential development, no rehousing or resettlement is required. There will not be any major impact to the local community.

7.10    The objective of the major infrastructure, tourism and recreation proposals is to provide added impetus to Hong Kong’s economic development by substantially enhancing employment, investment and business opportunities on Lantau. Green tourism initiatives, cycle track and local improvement works will help to provide local employment opportunities, boost the local economy and add vibrancy of the rural townships and villages. The proposed area improvement works will also help to provide an improved community environment for the local population.

7.11    With careful selection of sites, sensitive design and proper management, the proposed nature- and heritage-related initiatives should not result in any significant adverse impact on the valuable natural and heritage assets of the area. Rather, they should help to sustain the cultural attributes and local character of the areas concerned, and enhance the social coherence of the community. Moreover, the proposed countryside recreational facilities and green tourism initiatives should provide a greater choice of leisure, recreation and sports facilities for enjoyment by the locals, general public and tourists.

7.12    To ensure that the Revised Concept Plan proposals meet local aspirations and expectations, the Government will maintain continuous dialogue with the locals.

 

Transport Implications

7.13    Strategic road links connecting North Lantau to the NWNT and the main urban areas are being studied with a view to meeting increasing traffic demand (Plan 7.1). According to the NWNT TIR, it is envisaged that the Base Network (i.e. the existing roads plus the committed highways, including the HZMB and NLH Connection) in NWNT will operate within manageable levels until 2016. Additional traffic generated from the Revised Concept Plan proposals and other planned developments, including the remaining development of the North Lantau New Town and expansion of airport facilities, in the short and medium-term could be duly catered for. However, further traffic impact assessments should be carried out for those major development proposals to assess their traffic impacts.

7.14    To accommodate long-term traffic demand, possible packages of highway projects have been identified in the NWNT TIR (Plan 7.1). They include: (1) Lantau Road P1, Tsing Yi - Lantau Link (TYLL) and Pa Tau Kwu Section of the Chok Ko Wan Link Road; (2) Tsing Lung Bridge (TLB) and a connecting road between TLB and TYLL; (3) Tuen Mun - Chek Lap Kok Link; and (4) Link Options between Tuen Mun and Lantau. In total, these projects represent the maximal network now identified for North Lantau. In the light of the NWNT TIR, TD has drawn up the relative priorities for the necessary highway infrastructure to meet the traffic needs of NWNT and North Lantau. However, as planning of certain major developments in the region is still underway, TD will continue to closely monitor the pace of such developments and make corresponding adjustments to the implementation and relative priorities of the highway projects.    

External and Internal Transport Network

 

7.15    Under the Revised Concept Plan, major economic and tourism infrastructures that will generate most external traffic are planned in North Lantau. Prior to implementation of the proposals, further traffic impact assessments will be carried out.

7.16    Internal transport between North and South Lantau is constrained by local topography and environmental factors. The only road connecting north and south Lantau is Tung Chung Road. The main road link for South Lantau is South Lantau Road, which traverses the south coast from east to west (Plan 7.1). Both are ‘closed roads’, with road permit systems governing the use of the roads. Tung Chung Road will be widened to a standard single two-lane road. The improvement works are scheduled for substantial completion in 2008. With the completion of the improvement of Tung Chung Road, the safety of this north-south access of Lantau will be enhanced.

7.17    In planning for South Lantau, we have given due consideration to the conservation and recreational value of South Lantau and the capacity constraint of the road system in this area. Therefore only relatively small-scale recreational enhancements are proposed in the area, the transport implications of which should not be excessive. There will be some increase in the population and visitation figures, which can generally be catered for by the widened Tung Chung Road, minor improvements to South Lantau Road and Keung Shan Road and public transport services. Subject to further studies, a jetty could also be provided at Cheung Sha to cater for private leisure boats and island hopping activities (Plan 7.1). This would help bring more visitors to South Lantau and Tai O.

 

Back Next

大嶼山發展概念計劃

 

評估

 

可持續發展評估

7.1    「修訂計劃」包括一項就各發展建議進行的初步可持續發展評估。評估的結果顯示,有關建議能積極推動本港經濟發展,鞏固香港作為區域旅遊、運輸及物流樞紐的地位,可為大嶼山創造就業機會,以及開拓投資和本土營商機會。「修訂計劃」內和康樂有關的建議,會提供更多消閑、康樂及體育設施,從而達至促進文化活動蓬勃發展、提升社會凝聚力及維繫家庭穩定性的可持續發展原則。擬議的保育策略將有助保護島上的自然生境、景觀、文化遺產和生物多樣性。

7.2    落實發展建議不免影響環境。上述的可持續發展評估提出了一些潛在的課題,例如在施工和營運階段的空氣及噪音問題;擬議填海工程對水質的影響;對生物多樣性和天然資源的影響;大嶼山運輸基建的容量;對南大嶼構成的潛在發展壓力;對當地社區的影響;以及落實概念計劃的發展建議和其他規劃中在大嶼山進行的發展計劃的累積影響。個別工程項目的影響,須在進一步的環境影響評估 / 環境評估中詳細研究。各發展建議必須待有關評估結果確定其環境影響後才推展,並應採取適當的措施,緩解其可能帶來的影響。

7.3    根據上述可持續發展評估的建議,政府會分期推展「修訂計劃」下的發展建議。我們會就個別項目進行可行性研究,包括詳細的可持續發展評估,以及制定措施以應付各項目可能導致的影響和處理公眾所關注的事宜。在實施階段,我們會充分考慮各類方案的評估結果,以及考慮減低對環境和生態的影響,使社會、經濟及環境獲得最大效益,和保留大嶼山的特色的需要。
 

對環境的影響 - 策略性環境評估

7.4    政府在「香港2030研究」中,已進行策略性環境評估,評估範圍涵蓋全港各區(包括大嶼山)的主要基礎建設和發展建議。此外,顧問亦就「修訂計劃」進行了一項概略的環境評估,和就「修訂計劃」以及其他在大嶼山及其附近建議和規劃中的發展建議的累積影響,進行了一項一般性評估。

7.5    環境評估的結論是「修訂計劃」能在已有的基礎上發揮大嶼山現有的發展潛力,讓大嶼山得以發展,也可推動社會進步和經濟發展。「修訂計劃」已避免在北大嶼山具有高保育價值的地區進行發展,有關計劃較茩咻b現有基建設施的地區進行發展。保育策略作為「修訂計劃」的一部分,也是為保存大嶼山(北部和南部)珍貴生態和景觀資源而建議的正面措施。然而,概念計劃的發展建議具潛在的累積環境影響,在現階段不能斷言全面落實這些建議和其他在大嶼山擬議或規劃的發展建議(包括港珠澳大橋、香港國際機場及東涌新市鎮的未來發展等),會否對環境造成影響。此外,我們必須詳細考慮空氣和噪音問題。大嶼山的人口將增加三倍,意味著會有更多居民可能受到噪音和空氣問題影響。人口增加亦相應增加對交通和運輸的需求,政府應研究盡可能使用符合可持續發展原則的交通工具和鐵路。當局就各項發展建議進行可行性研究時,須研究適當地分期進行各項發展建議,並配以改善環境和消減相關問題的策略(例如引入歐盟IV期廢氣排放標準等)。

7.6    為了盡量減少對大嶼山自然和鄉郊環境的影響,擬議發展的選址應避開環境和生態均易受影響的地區。設計和建造北大嶼山的大型基建設施項目,以及大嶼山鄉郊地區小型工程項目時,應配合環保措施,盡量減低可能造成的影響。

7.7    在合適的情況下,政府會進一步研究個別發展建議,以確定有關建議在環境影響的可接受性,尤其是根據《環境影響評估條例》,屬於指定工程項目的個別發展建議或計劃必須遵照在該條例下環境影響評估的法定程序與規定,包括為有關計劃的建造工程和營運申領環境許可證。政府亦須評估計劃本身對環境的影響,以及與其他相關計劃一起帶來的累積影響。

 

對社會的影響

7.8    專責小組在制定「二零零四年概念計劃」時,其中一個主要考慮因素,是滿足區內人士的期望及社區的需要。我們在考慮公眾意見和建議後,已檢討和修訂「二零零四年概念計劃」。預料「修訂計劃」會對當地社區和廣大市民有所裨益。

7.9    大嶼山現時人口約有10萬6千人,約80%居於東涌,15%居於愉景灣,餘下的5%則居於梅窩鄉鎮及大澳和南大嶼的村落。在「修訂計劃」中,除了東涌被規劃為人口達22萬人的新市鎮外,並無建議在其他地區進行大型住宅發展或增加人口。由於「修訂計劃」不會對現有住宅發展構成任何影響,因此毋須任何重置或遷徙安排,不會對當地社區造成主要影響。

7.10    主要基建及旅遊和康樂建議,以推動本港經濟發展為目的,它們亦會大大提升大嶼山的就業、投資和營商機會。推廣綠色旅遊、單車徑和進行地區改善工程,可為區內提供就業機會,刺激本土經濟發展,增添鄉鎮和鄉村的活力。此外,擬議的地區改善工程亦有助提升區內的環境質素。

7.11    在推行和自然及文物有關的計劃時,如能審慎選址,採用合適的設計,並施以適當管理,應不會對區內珍貴的自然和文物資產構成任何重大的不良影響。反之,有關計劃有助保存該區文化特質和本土特色,以及增強社區的凝聚力。此外,擬議的郊野康樂設施及綠色旅遊項目,會提供更多消閑、康樂和體育設施,供區內人士、普羅大眾以及旅遊人士享用。

7.12    為確保「修訂計劃」能符合區內人士的期望,政府會繼續與區內人士保持密切聯繫。

 

對交通運輸的影響

7.13    政府現正研究興建連接北大嶼山至新界西北和主要市區的策略性連接道路,以應付不斷增加的交通需求(圖7.1)。根據新界西北交通及基建檢討,預計由現在至2016年,新界西北的基本公路網(即現有道路和已承諾興建的公路,包括港珠澳大橋和北大嶼山公路連接路)將可應付預計的交通需求。就短期至中期而言,有關道路足可應付「修訂計劃」中所載的各項建議和其他已規劃的發展項目(包括北大嶼山新市鎮餘下發展項目和擴建機場設施)的額外交通需求。然而,在推行各主要的發展建議前,當局須作進一步的交通影響評估。

7.14    為應付長遠的交通需求,有關檢討提出了多個公路發展組合(圖7.1),包括(1)大嶼山P1號公路、青衣至大嶼山連接路及竹篙灣連接路扒頭鼓段;(2)青龍大橋及接駁青龍大橋與青衣至大嶼山連接路的道路;(3)屯門至赤P角連接路;以及(4)屯門至大嶼山的連接路。這些項目的總和,代表了我們為北大嶼山制定最完整的公路網絡。運輸署已因應有關檢討的結果,制定必要的公路基建設施的優先興建次序,以應付新界西北部和北大嶼山的交通需求。然而,區內主要發展項目的規劃工作仍在進行,運輸署因此會繼續密切監察有關發展項目的進度,相應調整落實公路項目的時間表和優先次序。

對外和對內交通網絡

 

7.15    在「修訂計劃」之下,產生最多對外交通流量的主要經濟和旅遊基建設施都規劃在大嶼山的北部。我們在落實有關建議前,會作進一步的交通影響評估。

7.16    連接大嶼山南北部的內部交通設施受地勢和環境因素限制。南北大嶼山的唯一連接道路是東涌道,而嶼南道則是南大嶼沿海的主要陸路幹路,連接大嶼山東西部(圖7.1)。兩者均為封閉道路,有關道路的使用,受到許可證制度管制。東涌道現正進行擴闊工程,將成為雙線不分隔的標準道路。改善工程預計於2008年大致完成。工程完成後,貫通大嶼山南北通道的安全將獲得改善。

7.17    我們在規劃南大嶼的發展時,已充分考慮南大嶼的保育和康樂價值,以及該區道路系統的容量限制。因此,我們只建議改善該區的小型康樂設施,這些建議應該不會對交通造成重大的影響。該區人口和旅客數目將稍為增加,透過擴闊東涌道,嶼南道和瞻s道的小規模改善工程,和公共運輸服務的配合,大致上足可應付。此外,視乎進一步研究的結果,我們可考慮在長沙興建碼頭,供私人遊艇使用和發展島嶼漫遊活動(圖7.1),此舉將吸引更多旅客前往南大嶼和大澳。

 

上一頁 下一頁