"Business" Zone Concept and Guidelines for Rezoning of Industrial Land


INTRODUCTION

Planning Department (PlanD) has recently completed a study to review the planning framework for the reservation and provision of industrial land (the Study). The Study recommends that:

A consultation forum will be held in late November 1999. Your views on these recommendations are most valuable to us and will enable us to further shape and modify the planning framework for industrial land.

 

MAJOR FINDINGS

As part of the Study, three surveys involving a total of 174 buildings with over 4200 establishments have been undertaken It was found that:

In addition to the surveys, the Study has also reviewed the demand for the general industrial land taking into account the findings of the surveys as well as the latest economic factors. It is estimated that by year 2016, there may be a potential surplus of up to 4.2 million square metre of industrial floorspace (or up to 66 ha of land area). 

Note(1) 1990 has been chosen as the cut-off year for the purpose of this study to differentiate the older buildings from the newer ones that are less than 10 years old and as the I-O concept was introduced in November 1989.

 

"BUSINESS ZONE"

Meeting Market Needs

As reflected by the results of the surveys, the distinction between industrial and office uses is becoming blurred, particularly in the modern industrial buildings. Many manufacturing firms are no longer engaged in production activities but more office-oriented, whilst many office establishments such as import/export firms find the industrial buildings, which provide sufficient loading/unloading facilities and storage space, a suitable form of accommodation that meets their operational needs.

To cater for the accommodation needs of different business activities, PlanD proposes a new "Business" zone be introduced. The proposed "Business" zone is basically an employment zone to accommodate three main economic activities, i.e. clean industrial, general office and commercial uses.

From the land use point of view, these uses are compatible and thus can be co-located in the same building or same zone without the need for planning application. The exact development mix within the "Business" zone can be determined by the market.

The merits of the "Business" zone lies in its flexibility in property type and building usage which will enable the property market to more readily respond to the changing needs of the industrial/business sectors.

The "Business" zone is not intended to replace either the "Commercial" ("C") or "Industrial" ("I") zone. While the "Business" zone will accommodate the clean industrial and lower grade office/commercial uses (Figure 1), the demand for higher grade office/retail and hotel developments will still be met in the "C" zones and conventional industrial activities should remain in "I" zones.

figure 1 : business zone concept

 

New Buildings in the "Business" Zone

The "Business" zone can be applied to both new and existing buildings. It is proposed that new buildings upon development or re-development within "Business" zone should have the flexibility to be designed and used for either non-production based industrial, commercial or general office uses, or a combination of them, without requiring planning permission.


Existing Industrial Building in "Business Zone"

The "Business" zone concept can also be applicable to existing industrial buildings but they may have to be treated with greater caution. Conventional production activities, which are legitimate uses within existing industrial buildings, may be fire hazard prone while commercial and general office uses within the same building may attract members of the public who are unfamiliar with the fire escape routes. Therefore, it is proposed that these commercial/general office uses should be allowed if and only if they are separated from any remaining industrial production uses in the existing building, for example, by a buffer floor. In case no such separation of uses is provided to address the fire safety concerns, only non-polluting industries, offices directly related to industry and office uses not providing customer services (e.g. travel and employment agencies are considered as customer-based office uses) should be allowed for conversion of uses within existing industrial buildings in "Business" zone.


Implementation of the "Business" Zone

Table 1 suggests a list of examples of the types of uses that may be permitted in the proposed "Business" zone. We are now working on the Schedule of Uses for the "Business" zone for incorporation into the Notes of relevant Outline Zoning Plans. The draft Schedule will be submitted to the Town Planning Board for consideration in early 2000. 

Table 1: Uses anticipated in "Business" zone:

Uses Anticipated in "Business" Zone:

  • office
  • commercial
  • Non-polluting industry
  • administrative & managerial functions for industry
  • import & export office 
  • assembly, testing & quality control of products
  • research, development, training & design
  • high-tech pre-production & post-production process
  • data processing & IT
  • ervice & media production
  • sales & marketing
  • storage & distribution
  • showroom
 

Details on the implementation of "Business" zone, particularly in respect of lease enforcement, building and environmental controls, fire and structural safety, etc. are being examined by relevant departments and bureaux.

Accommodating Conventional Industries in "Industrial" Zone

Our survey findings have indicated that the manufacturing sector is still functional though less dominating. To minimize disruption to the economy and avoid massive job loss, "Industrial" zones in suitable areas should still be retained to provide an adequate supply of buildings for production-oriented uses. However, in the spirit of providing greater flexibility, it is proposed that office directly related to industrial uses would be permitted as of right in the "Industrial" zone without any restriction on the percentage of floorspace occupied.

 

REZONING OF INDUSTRIAL LAND

The Study has estimated a potential surplus of up to 4.2 million square metre of industrial floorspace (about 66 ha of industrial land) by year 2016. PlanD will soon commence detailed area assessments on all industrial areas with a view to reducing the surplus industrial land by rezoning for other suitable uses. Appropriate industrial sites will also be identified for rezoning to "Business" zone. Stimulating redevelopment and achieving environmental improvement in the older industrial areas will be a priority.

Since the demand forecast for industrial land is trend-based and covers a period of 15 years during which economic circumstances may change, rezoning of the potential surplus should be done in a progressive manner and not all in one go.

Rezoning would need to take into account the district planning intention, surrounding land uses, environmental and traffic conditions, community and infrastructure provision, building conditions and redevelopment potential. The broad guidelines for consideration of rezoning industrial land are summarized in Table 2.

 

WHAT WE NEED TO KNOW FROM YOU

Before the concept of the "Business" zone is finalized and rezoning proposals are drawn, we wish to seek your views on the new zoning mechanism and the rezoning guidelines, for example:

We look forward to your participation at the consultation forum to be held on 27 November 1999 and to share your views with us on the "Business" zone concept and rezoning guidelines. Please also feel free to send your written comments, if any, to the following address on or before 31 December 1999:

Planning Studies and Standards Section
Planning Department
16/F North Point Government Offices, 
333 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong
OR 
email: sspd@pland.gov.hk

Table 2: Consideration factors for rezoning of industrial land

 

Guidelines for Rezoning

Retention for "Industrial"
  1. premises which have low vacancy and are actively used for traditional production-oriented industrial activities;
  2. area where buildings are planned and developed up to modern standards for industrial operations;
  3. area with relatively high percentage of the local workforce engaged in manufacturing sector;
  4. area with little interface problems, i.e. isolated from residential or other sensitive developments;
  5. located in close proximity to industrial-support functions e.g. public cargo working area, container port, arterial roads etc; and
  6. the production-oriented industrial uses that exist therein are of a nature which may be difficult to be relocated.
Rezone for "Business"
  1. occupied by clusters of I-O buildings, industrial buildings with approvals for changes to commercial uses, and/or industrial buildings built to resemble office buildings in terms of design to achieve a critical mass. Based on the Office Land Development Strategy (OLDS) completed in May 1999, a cluster of 3 or more office buildings can create a "critical mass" which, due to agglomeration of economy, can further attract similar development in the adjoining areas;
  2. conveniently served by public transport and arterial road and close to rail stations or major public transport interchanges;
  3. the location is not suitable for residential development due to incompatible land uses within or adjoining the area or insurmountable environmental and traffic problems;
  4. area having some degree of interface problem with adjoining sensitive uses e.g. in between existing residential and industrial development so that the "Business" zone can act as a buffer; and
  5. a large extent of the existing buildings may have high vacancy or are in poor conditions requiring some incentive for change of use.
Rezone for "R(E)"
  1. isolated sites surrounded by mainly residential developments; 
  2. segregated from the industrial core by non-industrial activities, preferably at the fringe of the existing industrial area;
  3. location is suitable for residential development with environmental mitigation measures or sensitive building design (area suitable for residential use without any mitigation measure or sensitive design can be rezoned to "Residential (Group A)" directly) and;
  4. sites having reasonably good redevelopment potential e.g. buildings in single or a relatively unified ownership.
Rezone for "Comprehensive Development Area"
  1. a cluster of obsolete buildings with potential for larger scale redevelopment to achieve improvements to existing road pattern, environmental conditions, etc. and provide opportunities for the provision of GIC uses and/or open space required by the area; 
  2. location affected by multiple sources of adverse environmental impacts which cannot be removed unless by comprehensive redevelopment; and
  3. majority of land in single or relatively unified ownership or with reasonably good redevelopment potential.

「商貿地帶」概念及工業用地改劃指引


引言

規劃署最近完成了一項有關工業用地規劃架構之檢討研究,該研究提出的建議包括:

我們將於一九九九年十一月就有關建議舉辦一個諮詢論壇。你所提出的寶貴意見將有助於我們進一步具體化及修改工業用地的規劃大綱。

 

主要調查結果

本研究主要進行了三項調查,範圍包括一百七十四座工業樓宇及四千二百個有關機構,調查發現:

除此之外,此項檢討研究以調查結果及最新的經濟數據為基礎,重新檢視了一般工業用地的需求。結果顯示,在2016年預計將有高達420萬平方米的剩餘工業樓面面積(高達66公頃的土地)。

註釋(1): 由於工貿樓宇的概念是在1989年11月引入,故此本研究選用1990 年作為分隔的年份,以區分舊工業樓宇和少於10年樓齡的新工業樓宇。

 

商貿地帶

配合市埸需要

根據本研究調查所得,工業與商業的用途界別,尤其是在新型工業樓宇內,已日趨模糊。不少製造業公司已不再從事生產活動,而多轉為辦公室形式的用途。另一方面,由於工業樓宇能提供足夠的上落客貨設施以及貯貨地方,不少出口入貿易公司均選擇設於該類樓宇內。

為迎合不同商貿活動的需要,規劃署建議引入一種新的土地用途分區,稱為「商貿地帶」。「商貿地帶」基本上是就業地區,容許三種主要經濟活動,包括:無污染性工業,一般辦公室及商業用途。

從土地使用的角度來說,這三種用途是可以並存的,因此,可設於同一大廈或分區內而無須作出規劃申請。至於「商貿地帶」內實際的發展混合比例則可由市場決定。

「商貿地帶」的好處是能給予土地/樓宇用途高度靈活性,可使地產市場更快地回應工商界不停轉變的需要。

「商貿地帶」並非要取代「商業地帶」或「工業地帶」。「商貿地帶」將容納無污染性工業和次級辦公室/商業用途(圖一),至於高級辦公室/零售和酒店等發展則會保留於「商業地帶」,而傳統工業活動亦會繼續保留於「工業地帶」內。

圖一 : 「商貿地帶」概念

「商貿地帶」內之新建築物

「商貿地帶」可在新建及現存樓宇內同時實施。在「商貿地帶」內,整幢新建或重建樓宇可靈活地設計及用作無生產性工業、商業、一般辦公室、或上述各類用途的混合式發展。這些發展均無須作規劃申請。

 

「商貿地帶」內之現有工業樓宇

「商貿地帶」的概念亦可應用於現有的工業樓宇內,但必須謹慎處理。傳統設於現有工業樓宇內的生產活動,一般火警危險性較高,而商業或一般辦公室用途則往往會吸引不熟悉大廈走火通道的公眾人士前來,如將這兩種用途混存於同一大廈內,將易於發生危險。因此,研究建議如在現有工業樓宇中容許商業/一般辦公室用途,它們將需與工業生產活動分隔,例如設置隔火樓層。倘若「商貿地帶」內的工業樓宇沒有將工業生產用途與其他用途分隔開,該樓宇只可改作無污染性工業、與工業相關的辦公室,以及不直接提供顧客服務(顧客服務的例子包括旅遊及僱傭服務等)的辦公室用途。

 

「商貿地帶」的實施

表一列出了一系列建議中可設於「商貿地帶」的用途範例。我們現正著手製定「商貿地帶」的土地用途表,以便納入分區計劃大綱圖的註譯內。草擬的土地用途表將於2000年初提交「城市規劃委員會」作出考慮。

至於「商貿地帶」的具體實施細則,例如土地契約條款的執行,建築物與環境管制,防火設施及結構安全等,將由有關的政策局和部門審查。

表一: 建議可設於「商貿地帶」的用途
商貿地帶內擬許可的用途:
  • 寫字樓
  • 商業
  • 無污染性工業
  • 工業行政及管理
  • 出入口貿易寫字樓
  • 工業產品的測試、裝配及品質控制
  • 研究、開發、培訓及設計
  • 高科技、產品生產前後的工序
  • 數據處理及資訊科技
  • 服務性及傳媒製作
  • 銷售及市場推廣
  • 貯存及分發
  • 陳列室
 

傳統工業保留於工業地帶

根據調查所得,製造業雖已息微但仍在繼續運作。為了盡量減少對經濟及就業機會的影響,適當的工業用地應繼續保留在「工業地帶」內,以確保生產工業有足夠的地方繼續經營。然而,為了提高靈活性,現擬在「工業地帶」內可容許與工業直接相關的辦公室用途,而無須再作申請,此外,這類辦公室在「工業地帶」內亦不會有樓面面積比率的限制。

工業用地改劃用途

此研究預計在2016年時,工業樓宇的內部樓面面積有高達420萬平方米(約66公頃的工業用地)的剩餘。規劃署會就現存的工業區進行詳細的地區評估,旨在重新規劃工業用地作其他適合的用途,以減低過剩的工業用地,以及評估哪些地點可改劃作「商貿地帶」。在改劃過程中,如何鼓勵舊區重建及改善舊工業區環境將會是優先的考慮因素。

由於工業用地的需求是以過往的需求趨勢來作出評估,而且預測期長達十五年,在這十五年內,香港的經濟情況可能會有所轉變,故此,過剩的工業用地將會逐步改劃用途,而非全部同一時間修改。

我們在改劃工業用地時將會考慮各區的地區規劃意向、鄰近的土地用途、環境及交通狀況、社區及基建設施、建築物的樓齡及重建潛質等等。表二列出了改劃工業用地的指引。

 

我們需要你的意見

在落實「商貿地帶」及草擬工業用地改劃建議之前,我們期望能徵詢公眾對新的用途分區大綱及改劃指引之意見,例如:

我們殷切期待閣下參與在一九九九年十一月二十七日舉行的諮詢會議,並與我們分享閣下對「商貿地帶」及工業用地改劃指引之意見。如有任何意見,亦可於本年十二月三十一日之前將有關意見郵寄以下地址:

規劃署規劃標準及研究組
香港北角渣華道333號北角政府合署十六樓

電子郵件地址:sspd@pland.gov.hk

 

表二: 改劃工業用地的考慮因素

 

改劃指引

保留「工業地帶」
  1. 空置率較低及傳統工業生產活動仍然活躍的區域;
  2. 該區建築物規劃及發展上符合現代標準,適宜工業運作;
  3. 該區從事製造業的勞動人口比率較高;
  4. 該工業區的界面問題較少,即是遠離住宅及其他敏感用途;
  5. 鄰近工業支援設施,例如:公眾貨物起卸區、貨櫃碼頭、公路幹線等;及
  6. 該區原有的工業生產用途難以另覓其他地方安置。
改劃作「商貿地帶」
  1. 該區已有一撮或多撮工貿樓宇、或已獲規劃許可轉作商業用途的工業樓宇、及/或在建築設計上類似辦公樓宇的工業樓宇,形成了「密集點」。根據一九九九年五月完成的「辦公樓宇用地發展策略研究」,一撮三楝或以上的辦公樓宇即可形成「密集點」。基於經濟活動匯集的原理,這些「密集點」可替該區吸引更多類似的發展。
  2. 公共交通綱絡完善及鄰近公路幹線、鐵路車站及主要交通交匯處的區域;
  3. 區內與毗鄰地區的土地用途不協調,或因難以解決的環境及交通問題,使該工業區不宜用作住宅發展;
  4. 該區與毗鄰地區的敏感用途存在界面問題。例如:將現存工業及住宅發展區之間的土地改劃作「商貿地帶」,即可作為緩衝區;及
  5. 該區有大量高空置率或殘舊的建築物,需要更多的推動力去改變該區的土地用途。
改劃作「住宅戊類」
  1. 在住宅區毗鄰的零星工業用地;
  2. 與工業中心分隔開的工業區,理想地點是現存工業區的邊緣地帶;
  3. 若有適當的樓宇設計或環保緩衝設施,該地區適宜發展作住宅用途(若該區無須任何環保緩衝設施或特別設計便可用作住宅用途,可直接改劃作「住宅(甲類)」;及
  4. 該區有較高的重建潛質,例如樓宇業權單一或業權狀況較為簡單。
改劃作「綜合發展區」
  1. 該區的舊工業樓宇匯集處,且有潛質作大型重建。以改善現時的環境及交通情況、及增設社區設施和休憩用地;
  2. 該區必須作綜合重建才可解決現有的多項環境及交通問題;及
  3. 業權單一或業權狀況簡單而又具備較高重建潛質的工業區。